Recipe: Sichuan-Style Vegetarian Mixed Noodles

This recipe is REALLY easy. You only need noodles and some Chinese seasonings. Cook the noodles while mixing the sauce. Then out the noodles in the sauce and mix. Eat. It is SO GOOD too. If you love noodles you will love this recipe. When you need to make something fast, make this recipe.

Adapted from Every Grain of Rice by Fuchsia Dunlop (the book has so many tasty noodle recipes!)

Ingredients: Makes 1 Serving (this way you can multiply for however much you need)

1 serving Chinese fresh or dry flour and water noodles (You can use the fresh “Shanghai noodles” in the refrigerated section, or dried noodles, like dry “Shanghai noodles”, “Shandong noodles” sometimes called “Shandong ramen” but it’s not ramen, or other noodles that only have flour (maybe lists salt too) as an ingredient, no egg, no alkaline agent. There are many different thicknesses and widths and you can choose your favorite. If you have more time, you can make fresh noodles, which Chinese people prefer much more than premade or dry noodles. Just follow my homemade Italian pasta recipe using no eggs. Instead use water, as little as possible to form a dough, don’t add too much. About 60ml water per 125 grams flour is enough. Knead for a longer time to form a lot of gluten. And use the fettucine cutter. Actually, you can use egg noodles if you like them more, but in Sichuan, they do not use egg noodles, only flour-water noodles. My dad said, in Shandong, sometimes they add egg. You can even use soba noodles. In Sichuan they have noodles made from buckwheat flour too.)

Sauce: 1 tsp Chinese white sesame paste or tahini, 1 tsp light soy sauce, 1/4 tsp dark soy sauce, 1/2 tsp Chinkiang or Langzhong vinegar, 1/4 tsp white sugar (optional), 2 tsp Sichuan chili oil (use my recipe), 1/8 tsp ground roasted Sichuan peppercorn powder (dry roast a heaping 1/8 tsp whole Sichuan peppercorns until fragrant, then grind in mortar) or Sichuan peppercorn oil (buy at store), half of a finely minced clove of garlic or 1/8 tsp granulated garlic (I use this because fresh garlic gives garlic breath and it takes time to cut), optionally about 1 tbsp water to thin it if too thick

1 green onion, finely chopped (optional)

1 serving of any green leafy vegetable like spinach, bok choy, or anything you like (optional if you don’t have but it is healthy and balanced to add)

a handful of mung bean sprouts (optional and adds crunchiness)

Directions:

1. Bring a pot of water to a boil.

2. Add green vegetable and blanch 1 minute or until just cooked (only 10 seconds for spinach). Then remove and set aside. You can put in cold water or just leave it. Blanch bean sprouts for a minute too if you are using.

3. Add noodles and cook until cooked. Just taste it and it’s ready when it tastes cooked, but don’t cook too long so it doesn’t become mushy.

4. Meanwhile, mix sauce in a bowl.

5. When noodles are ready you can either drain and add directly to the bowl, or rinse until cool. For some noodles, if you add directly, it will be a starchy mess, so I recommend rinsing. Rinsing will make the noodles “cold noodles” which are popular during the summer. Some people put the noodles back in hot water after rinsing but I find this very unnecessary. Maybe you can try not rinsing but adding extra water to the sauce. Some noodles do not turn starchy though.

6. Put noodles in the bowl and mix. Top with green vegetables, bean sprouts, and green onions if using. You can also sprinkle roasted sesame seeds on top if you like. Enjoy!!

17 thoughts on “Recipe: Sichuan-Style Vegetarian Mixed Noodles

  1. YAY,,,,noodles!! Yes,,quick and easy!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I can see adding a bunch of veggies or left over protein. Very versatile.

    1. Yes, very good, tasty, quick and easy food to make. 🙂 Yum yum yum! I love noodles. Very versatile recipe. All the ingredients can be adjusted to taste. But I would recommend to NOT add oyster sauce (it’s Cantonese), ketchup (it won’t go well), etc. I would recommend to just use the ingredients listed, but to your favorite taste. Actually there can be some additions like some pickled vegetables such as ya cai, which is added to dan dan noodles. Non-vegetarian version can include shredded poached chicken breast on top if you like. I do prefer dan dan noodles over vegetarian noodles but vegetarian noodles are still very delicious. Oh, and raw julienned cucumber can also be included as a topping!
      Another tip: this recipe can also be adapted for rice noodles if preferred or gluten free for Celiac disease. 🙂

    1. Not sure why black is is quotes, but it will make a very noticeable difference, because it will be darker, and black sesame has a very different, unique and very tasty and nutty flavor. Black sesame paste is only used in desserts. If you already have it, you can make black sesame cake, bread, ice cream, or spread a little on toast with honey for breakfast. However, you can use it in the noodles for a very unique and nutty flavor. White sesame paste is used to make it creamier and a little nutty. Enjoy if you try it out!

  2. do you use/or have used the search option on WordPress specifically on you blog? can’t find the Mantou recipe and don’t want to keep asking you its location? I did try a search but it’s not very good.

      1. ok. bad example. the pasta recipe.
        but now I am deteined to figure out how to use the search option. Have a great Monday!!! THANKS.

      2. If you search “pasta”, the pasta recipe comes first. Then there are all of the noodle recipes I have posted under 🙂
        I will post the mantou recipe when I have time, it’s really good, especially with dishes with a sauce like red braised pork, and I’ll post that recipe later too!
        Happy Memorial Day!
        You’re welcome 😀

      3. hmmm. Search isn’t working on my iPhone. will try later on IPad.
        Thankful Memorial Day to you to!!!
        THANKS!!

      4. Hmm, strange. It works for me so maybe there is some glitch, sorry. 😦
        Today I’m making jiaozi dumplings, and I will also share that recipe. Too many recipes to share, hehe. It takes about an hour to write each post, and a couple hours for the ones with ingredient explanations like Buddha’s Delight, etc. So I hope to share all the recipes by next week.

    1. Yes, very tasty. 🙂
      I also bought a bread pan finally so I can make sliced bread and some types of cakes. Yay! I will start baking bread this weekend. Very easy, mix, rise, shape, rise, bake. Much easier because of stand mixer, no more kneading which takes too long!
      I will put more recipes when I have time, maybe not this week because it is busy. I’m interested in making a post on Pad Thai and is history, which is very very interesting (see The High Heel Gourmet’s recipe page if you want more info fast, because it is very good), as well as the extreme differences between Pad Thai and Pad American. (BTW I call the Pad Thai in America “Pad American” because “Pad Thai” means “Thai Stir-Fry” and the American version is NOT a Thai stir-fry.) I did have Pad American recently and it was SO GOOD!!! (Sorry, traditional Thai people) But seriously had almost none of the ingredients found in Pad Thai… lol I wonder what the real Pad Thai tastes like! It’s too annoying to make, with 999999 finely chopped ingredients are prepared meticulously and made into a perfect mise en place so you can stir-fry over the stove carefully, one wrong step is a failure and sticky mess of glop instead of noodles at the end! It’s never made in Thai household, only street food stands. It’s easy for the street food stands because they have all the same ingredients and it’s made all day long. Anyways I will post the Information post one day and will perhaps try to make the actual recipe sometime in the summer!
      Thai food has some easy food (like the tom yum and tom kha as well as stir fries), medium challenging food (the “curries” or gaeng/kaeng), and very challenging food (the complicated street foods, like some noodles). The main problem I have with making the tom soups (tom yum and tom kha) is that I have to get lemongrass which is annoying to use etc. and I think I ran out of galangal too, so I must go to Asian store for it so far away, but one day I’ll make it!
      Do you like Thai or Vietnamese food more? Vietnamese food is more similar to Chinese food in the cooked dishes, but they eat raw veg too which Chinese almost never do. Traditional Thai food is much more different than Chinese food with the curry pastes, but many popular Thai dishes like all the stir-fries are Chinese-inspired. Almost every ingredient in Pad Thai is actually Chinese, this just excludes tamarind, palm sugar, and a couple others.
      Thank you!

      1. you ask a hard question. Thai or Vietnamese. I like them both. I like the fresh/raw ingredients from Vietnam but I also really like curries with rice (so much as in comfort food)
        I can imagine all your recipes taking up so much of your time to write. Time is better spent cooking and eating. (IMHO)
        didn’t think I would see it written that you will now BAKE. If all it took was getting a mixer, then too bad you didn’t get one sooner. I don’t even want a Kitchen Aide. I borrow my Moms when I need to. SO heavy and cumbersome. Enjoy your baking and glad your dumplings turned out well 🙂

      2. Yes, hard decision! I’m not sure myself, maybe Thai 🙂
        I already had a mixer for a year, hehe. I bought a bread pan 🙂
        Thank you! Hope your food comes out well too. 🙂

      3. Second reply (less time last night): I think I like Thai food because of the stir-fry dishes especially the stir-fry rice noodles! I don’t like Thai curries though because the premade pastes are SO SALTY like adding a bucket lf salt into it.
        Yes, even though my recipes are fast and take under 30 min if Chinese, (an hour if Indian, several hours if Western XD), I have little time for writing since it takes too long. I like writing but I have to do necessary things (eating) than hobby (writing), hehe.
        I have always made mantou/baozi/dumplings every weekend. Baking a bread is much easier since just put in a pan and bake, no shaping into small ones. Baked buns are harder though. I very rarely bake sweets because it is much more challenging (must be precise). And baked sweets all need special pans, waste of room. I got a loaf pan for bread which is most useful. When I make sweets who can eat all of them? None of my family likes because Chinese dislike sweets. I can’t eat all without becoming very unhealthy. I need a Kitchen Aid because of my weekly mantou/baozi/jiaozi/flatbread/noodle making. As a Chinese, those are necessary, they are my staple foods. Without a mixer, it would take 1 hour to knead dough. It’s way too heavy and big. But I can store under my kitchen sink in the cabinet, so there is room. Enjoy if you bake sometime! 🙂
        PS, about Chinese staple. Staple means a grain that is eaten in very large amount almost every meal. The first domesticated staple in Northern China is rice. As the Han ethnic group (Chinese) expanded south, it spread. They realized much easier to grow in south. So they grew rice in the south instead. The new staples for the north became wheat and millet. It was like this for thousands of years. In modern China, rice is eaten almost every meal in South, but they also eat a lot of mantou baozi jiaozi bing and noodles. In the North, staple is still wheat foods, rice is still sometimes eaten. Some people don’t know what is a staple. They say Japan staple is MISO. Miso is a fermented paste, 1 spoon has all the sodium you can eat in a day! The staple in Japan is short grained rice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

