Recipe: Tomato and Eggs Stir-Fry(番茄炒鸡蛋)AND Authentic Egg Drop Soup

This is one of the easiest Chinese food! Almost every Chinese person can make this dish. You can serve with rice for basically a complete meal!

Ingredients:

3 or 4 roma tomatoes, cut into wedges, large bite size

3 or 4 eggs, beaten with salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp oil

1 or 2 green onions, finely chopped (optional)

Directions:

1. Heat wok, add oil.

2. Add beaten eggs, stir fry until halfway cooked. Very fast!

3. Add tomatoes, stir-fry one minute.

4. Add green onions, stir-fry until hot.

5. Enjoy!

Variation: It is common in Hong Kong to add ketchup with the tomatoes. Really! If using, add 2 tbsp ketchup with the tomatoes. Also, you can add sugar to taste if you wish.

Another variation, I like to cook the tomatoes a little more. After adding tomatoes and stir-frying 1 minute, I cover and cook on high heat for another minute or two. Then mix 1/2 tsp corn/potato/mung/tapioca starch with a tbsp of water, and add with green onion. Stir until hot and thickened, enjoy! This one is especially good with ketchup. 🙂

Variation: Egg and Tomato Soup(番茄鸡蛋汤)

Use 2 roma tomatoes and 2 eggs.

Do steps 1-2. Add tomatoes and 1 liter chicken broth, Chinese stock preferred. Cover and bring to a boil. Add green onions and bring to a boil. Enjoy!

Variation: Egg-Drop Soup(蛋花汤)

Use 2 roma tomatoes and 1 egg. Do not add salt and pepper to egg.

Bring 1 liter chicken broth and tomatoes to a boil. Add salt and white pepper powder to taste, then pour in eggs and stir 3 times quickly with chopsticks, add green onions and bring to a boil. Enjoy!

Tip: For any of these recipes, especially soups, use the best and ripe tomatoes. Otherwise it does not taste very good!

  

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Tomato and Eggs Stir-Fry(番茄炒鸡蛋)AND Authentic Egg Drop Soup

  1. I’d hope your trip was a safe one.
    I can read and would probably be
    as frustrated as your Mom. For that reason, I would sustain myself with
    healthy snacks. How is the weather?
    Hope you and your family stay well.
    I do hope you’ll post pictures. Turkey
    will probably be a place I would not visit
    so then I count on others to show me this part of the world. The Ice Creams
    sound so deRicious. Not sure about the food/diet in this country. Do take care and Thanks for posting an update.

    1. Turkey has less thieves than the rest of Europe! I didn’t even see one. Very ineteresting for me. But there still are so must be alerted.
      The most common food in restaurants is kebap (spelled in Turkish) of some sort, this word means roasted meat like chicken or lamb or beef. There are many kinds. The popular ones are döner (roasting lot of meat on a spinning thing until browned, then shaving off and repeating all day long) and this other one. It seems to be made from ground lamb mixed with a lot of spices and flavorings and formed into a long stick and roasted. This one is served with rice and raw lettuce onions, roasted tomato, and this flatbread sort of like naan. This one was good. Both of these have a lot of fat meat inside. The reason why I disliked döner was that the fat meat was in slices which I don’t like the texture of. While the other kebap had ground meat which I prefer, hehe. But it was way too salty, they added too much salt. Their rice is really good cause they add butter and salt to it, hehe. For lunch, everyone eats a döner wrap. I hope I can try the chicken one since it probably is more suited to my taste. Actually it’s more common hehe. Anyways the ice cream is best. And if you like roasted chestnuts and corn. And orange and pomegranate juice, YUM! And those cheap breadstick circles with sesame and nutella. If you’re wondering Turkish breakfast, there are many parts. Bread, egg (hard boil or omelet), sausage, this dough stuffed with cheese, raw tomato and cucumber, yogurt, jam (where to put the jam? they look yum but you don’t just eat it right?), etc. My favorite is this bread roll.
      A lot of shops sell baklava and Turkish delight. I never tried Turkish delight yet! I should get baklava sometime because it is very yummy.

      1. Oh. I’ve seen these meats that are a bunch of slices on a spit!!
        Regardless, I imagine food has many spices and yogurt (sure your not in India,,jk) So which bread do you like best. The one from France or Turkey? 🙂 🙂
        Turkish Delight sounds interesting? What about for the person who is a vegetarian?
        Hard or easy to find food?

      2. Yes, they call it döner in Turkey and shawarma in Middle East and gyros in Greece 🙂 but each is a little different
        Not nearly as much spices as India though 🙂 But they have many similarities and yogurt dishes similar to raita, flatbread like naan. They have really good bread. I prefer France cause the crispy crust 🙂 But Turkey restaurants all give free bread! I tried the yummy eggplant with ground beef called moussaka and it is very yummy.
        There is no such thing as vegetarianism in most of Europe and Asia LOL everything has meat! That is fine though, I see the cows and sheep grazing in the countryside unlike USA they are all in factories, hehe. Food is everywhere especially döner and kebap. Turkish Delight (lokum in Turkish) is very popular as a gift it seems. I’ll buy some the day before I leave for gifts 🙂 and one to try.
        When I get back I might try to make that yummy kebap made from ground lamb, and make it less salty, hehe. I will also make the moussaka with the eggplants, yum! Today I hope I will find lots of more yummy dishes in the hotel buffet 🙂 it’s included in the tour I’m taking. And I hope I won’t be tricked with money again, hehe.
        Today was driving on a bus to Çanakkale on the Asia side of Turkey. I visited Gelibolu and ate food at the restaurant next to the harbor, fresh grilled fish! And then went to the cemetery for Australian and New Zealand soldiers killed in Gelibolu in WWI. Lastly a ferry to Çanakkale. Dinner is in an hour! Time to blog soon 🙂

      3. I finished blogging the first post. The hotel wifi is ridiculously slow so the pictures keep failing to upload! So I must add pictures when I get home then, sorry. I hope you can see the post though, for some reason I cannot see it in the website yet.

Leave a Reply

